Texas Car Insurance—Teens, DUIs and SR-22
Car insurance companies assign rates based on a number of factors meant to determine the amount of risk they are taking in providing the insurance. Some drivers are automatically considered high risk. These include teenage drivers, drivers who have been convicted of a DUI charge and drivers who are required to file an SR-22. Teen drivers are seen as lacking experience that would make them safer drivers, while DUI automatically falls under dangerous driving habits that carry inherent risk, and there are legal ramifications for driving without having auto insurance. However, even with these factors against you, there are ways to find cheap auto insurance in Texas.
Texas Car Insurance for Teenage Drivers
Many states have Graduated Licensing Laws (GDL) for teenage drivers, with the goal of having teenage drivers restricted in when and how they can drive while they gain experience behind the wheel. Texas GDL laws are summarized here:
|GDL Law Requirements||Texas|
|Learner’s permit||15 years|
|Intermediate license||16 years|
|Full licensure||17 years|
|Mandatory Learner’s Permit Hold||Six months|
|Supervised Practice Driving||A minimum of 20 hours, with at least 10 of them at night|
|Unsupervised Nighttime Driving Ban||Yes; driving is prohibited between midnight and 5 a.m. during the Intermediate license stage|
|Passenger Restrictions||Yes; Maximum of one passenger under age 21|
|Cell Phone Use||No hand-held or hands-free non-emergency use during the first 12 months of Intermediate stage|
|Texting||Prohibited for first 12 months of Intermediate stage and prohibited for all drivers within a school crossing zone|
Getting DUI Insurance in Texas
If you are convicted of a first offense DUI in Texas, you could face penalties that include being in jail for time ranging from 72 hours to 180 days (or from 180 days to two years if a minor under age 15 was also in the vehicle), having your license suspended for 90 days up to one year, paying up to $2,000 in fines (up to $10,000 if a minor under age 15 was also in the vehicle), and a $1,000 DUI surcharge per year for three years ($2,000 if your BAC at the time of arrest was 0.16 percent or higher). Get cheap Texas car insurance quotes online.
SR-22 in Texas
An SR-22 form is a document that certifies to the state that the driver is carrying the minimum liability insurance required. Not every driver needs to file an SR-22. These documents are usually required of drivers who are attempting to reinstate a license after a DUI conviction, uninsured car accident, or charge of driving without proof of insurance, all offenses that will generally result in a suspended license. Texas is one of the states where an SR-22 form is required to reinstate the driver’s license.
Legally, every driver in Texas must have vehicle coverage. Situations like those listed above can make finding cheap auto insurance in Texas a bit of a challenge. But with Cheaptexascarinsurance.org, it does not have to be difficult. With the use of our free quote finder below, you can find the best rates for which you qualify.
Get started now with our quote generator and request cheap Texas car insurance quotes!
For saving in specific Texas cities, check out the following reports:Wikipedia article about Texas
New to Texas?